Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2005

January

Dr. Steffen Graether
Monday, January 31, 2005
"Antifreeze Proteins-Five Structures, One Function"

Dr. Barry Linkletter
Thursday, January 27, 2005
"Development of poisitively charged DNA analogues and studies towards stabilization of telomeric tetraplex DNA structures"

February

Dr. Kirsten Wolthers
Monday, February 21, 2005
"Hereditary Hyperhomocysteinemia: Investigating the mechanism of Methionine Synthase Reactivation"

Dr. Graham Dellaire
Tuesday, February 08, 2005
"PML Nuclear Bodies: Dynamic sensors of cellular stress and DNA damage"

March

Dr. Jonatha Gott
Thursday, March 31, 2005
"Cis-acting elements required for RNA editing in Physarum mitochondria"

Dr. John Parkinson
Thursday, March 17, 2005
"Partial Genomes: Applications in Comparative Genomics"

Dr. Craig Smibert
Monday, March 14, 2005
"Post-transcriptional control of gene expression of Drosophila"

Dr. Roger Leng
Tuesday, March 08, 2005
"The p53 pathway in Cancer: potential therapeutic applications"

Dr. Barbara Karten
Tuesday, March 01, 2005
"Cholesterol Homeostatsis in Brain and Niemann-Pick Type C Disease"

May

Dr. Michael Hendzel
Thursday, May 26, 2005
"Histone modifications in mitosis and the "no code" hypothesis"

Dr. Thomas Lagace - Patrick Prize Recipient
Tuesday, May 10, 2005
"The Sterol-Regulated Protease PCSK9"

June

Dr. Alan McHughen
Thursday, June 23, 2005
"Science and Society - Recombinant DNA and Public Policy"

Dr. Steven Rafferty
Thursday, June 09, 2005
"Protein quaternary structure, isotype variation, and the oxygenase domains of nitric oxide synthase"

August

Dr. Lloyd Fricker
Wednesday, August 24, 2005
"Neuropeptide discovery and function"

October

Dr. Janet Yee
Thursday, October 20, 2005
"Gene expression studies in the waterborne parasite, Giardia lamblia"

Dr. Gordon Francis, 2004 Royal College Medalist in Medicine
Monday, October 03, 2005
"ATP-binding cassette transporter AI - Niemann-Pick C1 protein interactions in cholesterol transport"

November

Dr. Vesa Olkkonen
Thursday, November 24, 2005
"The human OSBP-related proteins (ORP): ORP1L, a lipid sensor that regulates late endosomal membrane trafficking?"

Dr. Linda Schuler
Thursday, November 10, 2005
"Prolactin signals in mammary neoplasia"

Dr. Kenneth Noll
Thursday, November 03, 2005
"Sugar transporters in hyperthermophiles: What can they tell us about horizontal gene transfer and the evolution of their functions?"

December

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt
Thursday, December 15, 2005
"The cellular response to phosphate deprivation: scavenging phospholipid metabolites"