Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2006

January

Dr. Charles Bullerwell - Patrick Prize Recipient
Thursday, January 26, 2006
"RNA Editing in Fungi and Plants"

Dr. Charles Kurland
Thursday, January 19, 2006
"Cellular Protein Space and the Origin of Eukaryotes"

Dr. Richard Fahlman
Tuesday, January 17, 2006
"RNA: Roles in Synthesis, Regulation and Degradation of Proteins."

Dr. Jan Rainey
Wednesday, January 11, 2006
"Structural studies of matrix and membrane proteins over the supramolecular to atomic levels."

Dr. John Blankenship
Thursday, January 05, 2006
"Pyrrolopyrimidine and Pyrrolodiazepinone Synthesis by a novel Pictet-Spengler reaction, and Conformational Analysis of Selective GD2-Ganglioside Binding Ligands"

February

Dr. Tony Russell
Monday, February 13, 2006
"Small nucleolar RNAs (snoRNAs) in ribosome assembly and function"

Dr. Alan Doucette
Thursday, February 09, 2006
"From Proteins to Proteomics: Separations Meet Mass Spectrometry."

Dr. Michael Sacher
Tuesday, February 07, 2006
"Structure-function analysis of the membrane trafficking complex TRAPP in health and disease"

March

Dr. Allyson O'Donnell
Tuesday, March 21, 2006
"The calcineurin substrate Hph1 regulates metal ion homeostasis"

Dr. Eric Shoubridge
Thursday, March 16, 2006
"Defective assembly of the respiratory chain and the mystery of tissue specificity in mitochondrial disease"

April

Dr. Hatch Stokes
Monday, April 24, 2006
Mobile Gene Cassettes and Bacterial Adaptation

May

Dr. Mark Glover
Thursday, May 25, 2006
"BRCT domains - conserved phospho-peptide recognition modules in the DNA damage response"

June

Dr. Khosrow Adeli
Thursday, June 29, 2006
"Mechanisms of Hepatic and Intestinal Lipoprotein Overproduction in Insulin Resistant States: Perturbations in the Insulin Signal Transduction Cascades"

Dr. Aled Edwards
Thursday, June 08, 2006
"Structural Genomics Consortium. Structural Chemistry of Human Gene Families"

Dr. Anathea Flaman-Recipient of the Doug Hogue Award In Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Thursday, June 01, 2006
Searching for the elusive function of the yeast Niemann-Pick Type C-related protein

July

Dr. Elizabeth Patton
Thursday, July 27, 2006
"White fish, blue jaws, and black spots: MAPK signalling in zebrafish development and tumourigenesis"

Dr. Mike Shultz
Tuesday, July 04, 2006
"Studies of chromatin assembly and remodelling in yeast"

August

Dr. Eugene Koonin
Thursday, August 17, 2006
"Evolution of cells and viruses: a possibility of new synthesis?"

September

Dr. Gregory Petsko
Friday, September 29, 2006
Structural Neurology: A New Approach To The Understanding Treatment and Prevention of Neurodegenerative Diseases

Dr. Debbie Plouffe
Thursday, September 21, 2006
"Mechanisms of Immunity of Goldfish to Trypanosoma danilewskyi"

October

Dr. Michael Scheid
Thursday, October 26, 2006
"How to keep MAPK out of the loop: The AKTion starts with PDK1"

Dr. Jianjun Wang
Thursday, October 12, 2006
Human High-Density Lipoprotein Formation and Assembly at Atomic Resolution.

Dr. Robert Hedges
Thursday, October 05, 2006
From Hunter-Gatherers to compound-specific isotope variation; biochemical approaches to finding out about ancient diet

November

Dr. Lisa Porter
Thursday, November 30, 2006
The Role of Spy1 in Cell Growth Control; A Novel Mechanistic Insight into Development and Disease

Dr. Christopher Beh
Wednesday, November 29, 2006
Sterol homeostasis and yeast cell polarization

Dr. Laura Katz
Thursday, November 02, 2006
Challenging paradigms through studies of evolutionary genomics of microbial eukaryotes