Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2007

January

Dr. Maurille Fournier
Monday, January 29, 2007
"The modified nucleotides in rRNA: they affect ribosome synthesis and activity and may do more..."

Dr. Tom Schmidt
Thursday, January 25, 2007
"Bacterial niches and greenhouse gases: Tradeoffs between power and efficiency"

March

Dr. Peter Tonge
Thursday, March 15, 2007
Mycolic Acid and Menaquinone Biosynthesis: Mining the Magic Mountain for Novel Tuberculosis Drugs

April

Dr. Jens Coorssen
Thursday, April 05, 2007
Cholesterol, curvature, rafts, and regulated membrane fusion: getting at mechanism

May

Dr. Greg Fairn-Patrick Prize Recipient
Friday, May 18, 2007
Award Presenation

September

Dr. Brian Sykes
Thursday, September 27, 2007
Structure and Dynamics of Calcium Regulatory Proteins: From Solution to Intact Muscle Fibers

Dr. Laurent Kreplak
Thursday, September 20, 2007
"What mechanical role for desmin within muscle fibers? An in vitro study"

Dr. Chris Lane
Thursday, September 13, 2007
"Comparative genomics gives us a second look at secondary endosymbiosis."

Dr. André Marette
Wednesday, September 05, 2007
Fish nutrients for the treatment of insulin resistance in obesity.

October

Dr. Chérif F. Matta
Thursday, October 25, 2007
"Where Do Things Happen in Biological Molecules? Insight from the Analysis of Molecular Electron Density Distributions"

Kristin Bowden - M.Sc. Thesis Defence
Tuesday, October 23, 2007
"Regulation of ABCA1 Protein Turnover and Cholesterol Efflux by Oxysterol Binding Protien (OSBP)"

Dr. Mo-Quen Klinkert
Thursday, October 11, 2007
"Small Clonally Variant Proteins of the Malaria Parasite Plasmodium Falciparum"

George A. M. Cross
Thursday, October 04, 2007
"Genetic and Molecular Basis of Antigenic Variation in African Trypanosomes"

November

Dr. David Waisman
Thursday, November 29, 2007
"Regulation of Cancer Cell Plasmin Generation by S100A10 "

MSc Thesis Defense - Alex Berezkin
Tuesday, November 27, 2007
"Checkpoint protein kinase 2 (Chk2) as a mediator of anoikis of the non-malignant intestinal epithelial cells."

Christine Sharp / Dr. Andrew Roger
Thursday, November 22, 2007
3:45 p.m. CHRISTINE SHARP Honours Co-op Student Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Microbiology & Immunology "Discovery of an integron in the phylum Actinobacteria a potential agent of xenobiotic degradation?" 4:00 p.m. DR. ANDREW ROGER Associate Professor N.S.E.R.C. E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship Recipient "Statistical models of protein sequence evolution: Let's get real!"

Dr. Richard Singer
Thursday, November 15, 2007
"Gene tranmscription in a repressive chromatin environment: issues of FACT"

December

Dr. Eric Milot
Thursday, December 20, 2007
"Epigenetic regulation of gene expression in normal and malignant hematopoiesis"

Dr. Graham Dellaire
Thursday, December 13, 2007
"Subnuclear domains and kinases: work in progress"

Dr. Philip Bourne
Thursday, December 06, 2007
"Evolutionary Insights from Protein Structure"

MSc Thesis Defence - Melissa A. MacKinnon
Monday, December 03, 2007
"The Role of Nuclear Protein Import on Phosphatidylcholine Synthesis"