Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2009

January

Karsten Gehrig, PhD Candidate
Thursday, January 29, 2009
Phosphatidylcholine Synthesis: From Nucleus, to Lamins, to Cytosol

Dr. John Archibald
Thursday, January 22, 2009
A Tale of Two Nuclei:
Endosymbiosis, Gene Transfer and Eukaryotic Genome Evolution

February

Dr. Gaudenz Danuser
Thursday, February 26, 2009
Integration of Chemical and Mechanical Signals in Epithelial Cell Migration

Adrian Sharma, PhD Candidate
Thursday, February 19, 2009
Metagenomics, Pure Cultures and Rhodopsin-based Phototrophy

Jeremy Koenig, PhD Candidate
Thursday, February 05, 2009
"A Molecular Journey Assessing Integron Gene Cassettes Through Sewage, Sludge and Slime"

March

Graduate Student Symposium
Thursday, March 26, 2009
Hot Off the Press in Nature and Science!

Craig Steeves, M.Sc. Candidate
Thursday, March 26, 2009
"Effects of Oxidative Stress and Quorum Sensing Signals on the Proteome of the Oral Anaerobe Fusobacterium Nucleatum"

Honours Students - Day 2
Thursday, March 19, 2009
3:35 - 3:45 Kristen Hildebrand
The Effects of ORPIL on Cholesterol in NPC1-Deficient Cells
3:50 - 4:00Jenaya Rickard
Role of CAT1 in the Survival of T47b Breast Cancer Cells
4:05 - 4:15Gina Monk
Characterization of the Assembly and Secretion of Adipocytes
4:20 - 4:30Matthew Parker
Efficiency of In vitro-Mediated Biotinylation
4:35 - 4:45Courtney Stairs
A Possible Role in Glycine and Succinate Metabolism for the Mitochondrion-Related Organelle of Mastigamoeba Balamuthi
4:50 - 5:00Matthew MacDowell
Transient Expression of Firefly Luciferase in Guillardia Theta Via Electroporation
5:05 - 5:15Neeraj Khanna
Inhibition of the MEK-ERK Pathway Enhances VLDL Assembly in HepG2 Cells

Honours Students - Day 1
Wednesday, March 18, 2009
3:35 - 3:45 Michael Bawden
Characterization of the C-terminal region of apelin
3:50 - 4:00Dan Arsenault
Localization of kesl in S. Cerevisiae and its Involvement in Autophagy
4:05 - 4:15Alexander Roy
Identifying and Probing the GTP Bonding-Site of CTP Synthase
4:20 - 4:30Antonio Gallo
Role for the Nuclear Periphery Chromatin-Anchoring Protein Escl in Regulating Yeast Plasmid Copy Number
4:35 - 4:45Jillian Rourke
Assessing Whether Altered Ion or Nutritional Status Reveals a Function for the Yeast Niemann Pick-C Related Gene (NCR1).
4:50 - 5:00Andre Dube
Proteins that Bind the Yeast Glo3 and Imh1 Proteins
5:05 - 5:15Timothy Morehouse
Characterization of Carboxypeptidase-D Expression in Human Prostate Cancer

Dr. Andrew Roger
Monday, March 16, 2009
Challenges in Reconstructing the Evolutionary History of Eukaryotic Cells

Gerard Gaspard, PhD Candidate
Thursday, March 12, 2009
"Regulation of Phosphatidylcholine Synthesis Under Heat Stress"

Dr. Stephen G. Withers
Thursday, March 05, 2009
"Directed Evolution of Redesigned Enzymes for
Glycoside Synthesis"
3:30 PM
Reception Prior To Seminar
Room 3-A1, Sir Charles Tupper Building

April

Elke Uribe - PhD Candidate
Thursday, April 30, 2009
"Binding Specificity and Recognition Role of the Atlantic Salmon Serum C-type Lectin"

Dr. Arnold Bendich
Monday, April 27, 2009
Mitochondrial DNA, Chloroplast DNA, and the Origin of Embryonic Development

Cory Hawes, M.Sc Candidate
Thursday, April 23, 2009
"Examining Synaptic Transmission in Niemann-Pick Type C Disease"

Ryan Gawryluk - PhD Candidate
Tuesday, April 21, 2009
TBA

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Natalie Donaher
Friday, April 17, 2009
"The Complete Plastid Genome of the Non-photosynthetic Alga Cryptomonas Paramecium"

Dr. Charlie Boone
Thursday, April 16, 2009
Global Mapping of Genetic and Chemical-Genetic Interactions in Yeast

Ameer Jarrar, MSc Candidate
Thursday, April 09, 2009
Identification of Mutations that Rescue Yeast Cells Lacking Retromer Function

Dr. Robert Brown
Wednesday, April 08, 2009
Translating Endothelial Lipase

Dr. Larry Fliegel
Thursday, April 02, 2009
Structural and Functional Analysis of the Na+/H+ Exchanger,A Eukaryotic Membrane Protein Important in Heart Disease and pH Regulation

Honours Student Seminar - Matthew MacDowell
Thursday, April 02, 2009
Transient Expression of Firefly Luciferase in Guillardia theta via Electroporation

DR. CLAIRE BROWN
Wednesday, April 01, 2009
Focal adhesion protein distributions and dynamics: Monomers to trimers and microseconds to minutes

May

Dr. John Rohde
Thursday, May 28, 2009
Introducing the IpaHs: A Novel Class of E3 Ubiquitin Ligases from Bacteria

Michelle Leger - PhD Candidate
Thursday, May 14, 2009
"Exploring the Functions of
Mitochondrion-Derived Organelles"

Gerrit Volkmann, PhD Candidate
Thursday, May 07, 2009
RECIPIENT OF THE 2008/2009 DOUG HOGUE AWARD IN BIOCHEMISTRY & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

"Probing Protein Dynamics in vivo"

June

Dr. Richard Lehner
Monday, June 15, 2009
"Role of Carboxylesterase 3/Triacylglycerol Hydrolase in Lipid and Glucose Metabolism"

PhD Thesis Defence - Karsten Gehrig
Monday, June 15, 2009
"Membrane Binding Regulates Nuclear Localization
and Activity of CTP: Phosphocholine Cytidylyltransferase

Dr. Brian Shilton
Thursday, June 11, 2009
Regulation of ATP Hydrolysis in Binding Protein Dependent ABC Transporters

Dr. Steven Hallam
Wednesday, June 10, 2009
Ecological Genomics of Expanding Oceanic Dead Zones

PhD Thesis Defence - Jeremy Koenig
Tuesday, June 09, 2009
The Integron and its Gene Cassettes:
Molecular Ecology of a Mobile Gene Pool

Dr. Peter Forsyth
Friday, June 05, 2009
Understanding Tumor Invasion and Developing Therapeutics

PhD Thesis Defence - Yi Zhang
Friday, June 05, 2009
"ONCOLYTIC (AND ANTIANGIOGENIC) PROPERTIES
OF TRUNCATED DIPHTHERIA TOXIN"

Dr. Sergio Grinstein
Thursday, June 04, 2009
Signaling Phagocytosis: Tracking Receptors, Phospholipids and Surface Charge

July

MSC Thesis Defence - Ameer Jarrar
Tuesday, July 28, 2009
"Genetic Studies of Retromer Function in the Yeast Model System"

PhD Thesis Defence - Adrian Sharma
Friday, July 24, 2009
"Insights into the Ecology and Evolution of the Light-Harvesting Microbial Rhodopsins"

Dr. William Whitman
Friday, July 24, 2009
The Number of Prokaryotes on Earth
(and why we care)

PhD Thesis Defence - Salma Abdelmagid
Thursday, July 23, 2009
"The Role of Prolactin- and Estrogen-Inducible Carboxypeptidase-D and Nitric Oxide Production in Breast Cancer Cell Survival"

Dr. Suhad Ali
Thursday, July 23, 2009
Prolactin Role and Signaling Mechanisms in Mammary Development and Carcinogenesis

Dan Gaston
Thursday, July 09, 2009
"FunDi: Phylogenetic Identification of Functionally Divergent Protein Residues"

Mark Charman
Thursday, July 02, 2009
Characterizing the Mitochondrial Cholesterol Import Pathway

August

MSc Thesis Defence - Stacy MacDonald
Thursday, August 27, 2009
"Exploration of Cytochrome c Structure-Function Relationships with Site-Directed Chemical Modification"

Dr. David Thomas
Monday, August 24, 2009
Protein Trafficking and Cystic Fibrosis

PhD Thesis Defence: Gerrit Volkmann
Monday, August 24, 2009
"Protein Cleavage, Labeling And Cyclization Using Non-Canonical Split-Inteins"

September

Dr. Jeffrey Atkinson, Professor
Thursday, September 24, 2009
Intracellular Transport and Membrane Behaviour of Vitamin E

Julia Cottle, MSc. Candidate
Thursday, September 17, 2009
"Roles for Acyl Carrier Protein Beyond Lipid Metabolism"

Dr. Chris Lane
Sunday, September 13, 2009
TBA

Yi Wang, PhD Candidate
Thursday, September 10, 2009
"Controllable Protein Splicing by
Engineered Inteins and
Directed Evolution of Inteins"

October

2008 Patrick Prize Recipient
Thursday, October 29, 2009
Form & Function of the Saanich Inlet Microbiome

Dr. Mark Glover
Friday, October 23, 2009
"Mechanistic insights into the Regulation of Horizontal Gene Transfer in Bacteria Through Structural Studies of the F Plasmid TraM Protein"

Dr. Paul Dawson
Thursday, October 22, 2009
"Role of the Heteromeric Transporter OSTα-OSTβ
in Bile Acid Transport and Lipid Metabolism "

PhD Thesis Defence - Michael Ngo
Thursday, October 22, 2009
"Elucidating the Role of Oxysterol Binding Protein-related Protein 9 (ORP9) in Cholesterol Transport and Golgi Function"

Dr. Sui Huang
Thursday, October 15, 2009
"The Structure and Function of the PNC and its Association with Malignancy"

Ryan Gawryluk - PhD Candidate
Thursday, October 08, 2009
"A Proteomic Investigation of the
Acanthamoeba Castellanii Mitochondrial
Electron Transport Chain"

Dr. Roy Duncan
Thursday, October 01, 2009
"Structure-function Relationships in a Novel Family of Fusion-associated Small Transmembrane (FAST) Proteins"

November

W. Ford Doolittle, Ph.D., (Professor Emeritus)
Thursday, November 26, 2009
"Irremediable Complexity"

Craig Harvey Steeves, B.Sc.
Tuesday, November 24, 2009
M.Sc. Thesis Defence "Delineating the Oxidative Stress Response and Quorum Sensing Signal Production in Fusobacteria"

Dr. David Barnett
Thursday, November 19, 2009
"Fractionation Techniques for Protein Mass Spectrometry"

Dr. Graham Bell
Thursday, November 12, 2009
"The Genomics of Fitness in Yeast"

December

Dr. Simonetta Sipione
Thursday, December 17, 2009
Huntington's Disease: When the Brain Craves Fat

Dr. Elliott Stollar
Thursday, December 10, 2009
Dynamic Engagement of a Bipartite SH3 Domain-target Interface

Cory Micheal Hawes B.Sc.
Monday, December 07, 2009
M.Sc. Thesis Defence- Examining Synaptic Vesicles Endocytosis in NPC1-deficiency; the Role of Plasma Membrane Cholesterol

Dr. M. Joanne Lemieux
Thursday, December 03, 2009
Cutting Through the Membrane-Structural and Functional Studies of Rhomboid Intramembrane Peptidases