Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2014

January

Barry Kennedy
Thursday, January 30, 2014
Recipient of the 2012/2013 Doug Hogue Award in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Exploring the Role of Mitochondrial Cholesterol in Niemann-Pick Type C Disease

Reception To Follow In Room 9-A1, Sir Charles Tupper Medical Building

Dr. Paola Marignani
Thursday, January 23, 2014
Let The Data Guide You

Dr. Jan Rainey
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Probing Modularity and Supramolecular Assembly: Biophysical Characterization of Bicelles, Micelle-Embedded Transmembrane Domains and Spider Wrapping Silk

Dr. John Archibald
Thursday, January 09, 2014
One Plus One Equals One: Endosymbiosis and Genome Evolution in Microbial Eukaryotes

February

Dr. R. Scott Prosser
Thursday, February 27, 2014
Prion Aggregation and GPCR Activation: Stories of Functional States & Dynamics

Dr. Wenda Greer
Thursday, February 13, 2014
Molecular Diagnostics for Lung Cancer Patients with a View to Personalized Medicine

Dr. David Byers
Thursday, February 06, 2014
What's New in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education?

March

Dr. José Robledo
Thursday, March 27, 2014
“Dermo” Disease: The Story of an Oyster Parasite With an Unexpected Twist

Honours Student Presentations
Friday, March 21, 2014

Honours Student Presentations
Thursday, March 20, 2014

Honours Student Presentations
Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Dr. Stefan Krueger
Thursday, March 13, 2014
Structural and Functional Plasticity of Neurotransmitter Release Sites at Cortical Synapses

Graduate Student Symposium
Thursday, March 06, 2014
Hot Papers Published in Nature & Science 2013-2014

April

Renny Lee
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Trans-splicing and Genome Evolution in Marine Protists

Dr. Johane Robitaille
Thursday, April 17, 2014
From Genes to Therapies for Developmental Retinal Vascular Disorders

Dr. Neale Ridgway
Thursday, April 10, 2014
Oxysterol Binding Proteins: We Do More Than Bind Oxysterols

Dr. René Jacobs
Thursday, April 03, 2014
Understanding the Role of One-Carbon Metabolism in the Development of Chronic Diseases

May

Adam Aitchison & Iman Khan
Thursday, May 29, 2014
Adam Aitchison, M.Sc. Candidate
Phosphatidylcholine Synthesis Regulates Cell Proliferation and Survival

Iman Khan, Ph.D. Candidate
Molecular Mechanisms of ErbB2 Oncogene-Driven Three Dimensional Breast Tumor Growth

Aditya Pandey
Thursday, May 22, 2014
Dividing the Apelin Receptor to Conquer: Recombinant Expression and NMR Spectroscopy of a GPCR

Alexandra Reda & Gregory McCluskey
Thursday, May 15, 2014
Alexandra Reda, M.Sc. Candidate
Structural Characterization of 20 kDa Fragments of Human Apolipoprotein B100

Gregory McCluskey, Ph.D. Candidate
Exploring the Ammonia Tunnel of CTP Synthase

Rafaela Andrade-Vieira
Thursday, May 08, 2014
The Role of LKB1 in Mammary Gland Tumourigenesis

PhD Thesis Defence - Peter Murphy
Thursday, May 01, 2014
ACYL Carrier Protein Dynamics and Partner Enzyme Interactions

Dr. Valerie Booth
Thursday, May 01, 2014
Messing up Membranes: Antimicrobial Peptides and Lung Surfactant Proteins

June

Tommy Harding
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Adaptations to High Salt Concentrations: The Case of Halocafeteria Seosinensis

PhD Thesis Defence - Gerard Gaspard
Thursday, June 19, 2014
Loss of Mitochondrial Quality Control Protein Yme1 is Deleterious to the Viability of Yeast Lacking Tafazzin

Antonietta Pietrangelo & Susan Sharpe
Thursday, June 12, 2014
Antonetta Pietrangelo, Ph.D. Candidate "Oxysterol Binding Protein-Related Protein 4 is Required For Cell Proliferation and Growth"

Susan Sharpe, Ph.D. Candidate “The Protist Pygsuia biforma Expresses Integrins; Implications for the Origins of Animal Multicellularity”

Kathleen Attwood
Thursday, June 05, 2014
Effect of Chromatin Structure and the Subnuclear Localization of a DNA Break on the Progression of DNA Repair

July

PhD Thesis Defence - Barry Kennedy
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Exploring the Role of Mitochondrial Cholesterol in Niemann-Pick Type C Disease

Dr. Judith Storch
Thursday, July 31, 2014
Mechanisms of Cholesterol Transfer by Niemann Pick C Proteins and Cyclodextrins

Dr. Jim Brown
Thursday, July 10, 2014
Human-Microbial Interactions in Drug Discovery

Sergio Hleap Lozano
Thursday, July 03, 2014
Exploring Modularity of Protein Structures: Insights into Sub-Domain Architecture

August

Dr. Georgina Hold
Thursday, August 28, 2014
IBD, the Microbiome and Beyond

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Adam Aitchison
Friday, August 15, 2014
Regulation of Programmed Cell Death and Lipid Droplet Formation by CTP: Phosphocholine Cytidylyltransferase Alpha (CCTα)

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Nigel Chapman
Wednesday, August 13, 2014
Probing GPCR Activation: Functional Analysis of the N-Terminus and Extracellular Loops of the Apelin Receptor

September

Dr. José Fernández-Robledo
Thursday, September 25, 2014
“Dermo” Disease: The Story of an Oyster Parasite with an Unexpected Twist

Dr. J. Michael Lee
Thursday, September 18, 2014
The Nano-scale View of Soft Tissue Injuries: Discrete Plasticity in Collagen and Structural Cueing of Cells

Dr. Jason Berman
Thursday, September 11, 2014
The Zebrafish: A Versatile Platform for Drug Discovery

October

Dr. David Bazett-Jones
Thursday, October 23, 2014
Good Fences Make Good Neighbours in the Nucleus

Dr. Craig McCormick
Thursday, October 16, 2014
Viral Management of Cellular Stress Responses

Dr. Robert Beiko
Thursday, October 09, 2014
Is Microbial Ecology Driven by Roaming Genes?

Dr. Sherri McFarland
Thursday, October 02, 2014
Moving Metal-Based Photosensitizers for Photodynamic Therapy from Concept to Reality

November

2013 Patrick Prize Award Seminar - Dr. Eric Fisher
Thursday, November 27, 2014
Quality Control of VLDL Production in a Hepatic Protein Factory

Dr. T. Martin Embley
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Investigating the Origins of Eukaryotes: An Evolving Synthesis

PhD Thesis Defence - Courtney Stairs
Thursday, November 20, 2014
Functions and Origins of Mitochondrion-Related Organelles in Anaerobic Protists

Dr. Douglas Fudge
Thursday, November 13, 2014
Hagfish Slime Unraveled

Dr. James Fawcett
Thursday, November 06, 2014
Polarity Proteins: Neuronal Development and Cancer

December

Dr. Christopher Richardson
Thursday, December 11, 2014
Targeting Cancer Using the Cellular Receptors for Measles Virus

Dr. Lawrence McIntosh
Thursday, December 04, 2014
Where is the Proton? Electrostatics and pH-Dependent Enzymatic Reactions

PhD Thesis Defence - Marie-Laurence Tremblay
Thursday, December 04, 2014
The Structural Characterization of Argiope Trifasciata Spider Wrapping Silk by Solution-State NMR