Dal Alert!

Receive alerts from Dalhousie by text message.

X

Seminars Archive 2015

January

MSc Thesis Defence - Alexandra Reda
Friday, January 30, 2015
Structural Characterization of 20 kDa Lipid-Binding Fragments of Apolipoprotein B100

Dr. Morgan Fullerton
Wednesday, January 28, 2015
AMP-Activated Protein Kinase (AMPK): Metabolism, Macrophages and More

Dr. Melanie Kelly
Wednesday, January 21, 2015
Pharmacological Actions and Therapeutic Potential for Drugs Targeting the Ocular Endocannabinoid System: A New Vision or Another Smokescreen

Rafaela Andrade-Vieira
Wednesday, January 14, 2015
RECIPIENT OF THE 2013/2014 DOUG HOGUE AWARD IN
BIOCHEMISTRY & MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

“From Cell Signalling to Pre-clinical Trials; the Role of a Tumour Suppressor Protein Networks”

February

Dr. Song Lee
Wednesday, February 25, 2015
Do Gram-positive Bacteria Have a Disulfide Bond Formation Pathway?

Dr. Bryce Nelson
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Structure-Guided Design of Synthetic Antibodies

Dr. Aarnoud van der Spoel
Wednesday, February 04, 2015
For Better or Worse: Beta-Glucosidase 2, Target of Beneficial Drugs but Mutated in Neurological Disease

March

Honours Student Presentations - Day 3
Friday, March 27, 2015

Honours Student Presentations - Day 2
Thursday, March 26, 2015

Honours Student Presentations-Day 1
Wednesday, March 25, 2015

Dr. Karen Bedard
Wednesday, March 18, 2015
Using Cell Models to Study Mutations in Rare Genetic Disorders With a Dominant Inheritance Pattern

Dr. John Rubinstein
Wednesday, March 11, 2015
"Electron Cryomicroscopy of Rotary ATPases "

Graduate Student Symposium
Wednesday, March 04, 2015

April

Dr. John Rohde
Wednesday, April 29, 2015
“Protein Chemistry as Taught by Bacterial Pathogens”

PhD Thesis Defence - Rafaela Andrade-Vieira
Friday, April 24, 2015
Loss of LKB1 Tumour Suppressor Function Plays a Role in Mammary Gland Tumourigenesis and Regulation of Cell Metabolism

Dr. Montse Sanchez-Cespedes
Thursday, April 23, 2015
"Dissection of the BRG1 and MYCIMAX Biological Connection and Its Use in Lung Cancer Therapeutics"

Dr. Denis Dupré
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
"Understanding G-protein Coupled Receptor Function and Specificity Through Analysis of Their Role in Cancer and Oligomerization"

Matthew Harty & Sergio Munoz
Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Matthew Harty, M.Sc. Candidate
"Characterizing the Entatic State of the Cambialistic Enzyme Mandelate Racemase"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sergio Munoz, M.Sc. Candidate
“The Origin and Early Evolution of Mitochondrial Structure”

Dr. Vasantha Rupasinghe
Wednesday, April 08, 2015
“Flavonoids and Their Acylated Derivatives: Potent and Versatile Biological Activities”

Dr. Karen Bedard
Wednesday, April 01, 2015
"Using Cell Models to Study Mutations in Rare Genetic Disorders With a Dominant Inheritance Pattern"

May

Saki Sultana & Noelia Dufay
Wednesday, May 13, 2015
Saki Sultana, Ph.D. Candidate
"Glycosphingolipids : From Homeostasis to Genetic Disease"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Noelia Dufay, M.Sc. Candidate
“Function of Hem25 and it’s Role in Congenital Sideroblastic Anemia: Interactions with Mitochondrial Proteins”

Andy Song & Robin Patterson
Wednesday, May 06, 2015
Andy Song, M.Sc. Candidate
"Segmental Isotopic Labeling of p53 for Structure Characterization"
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Robin Patterson, M.Sc. Candidate
“Probing Membrane Catalyzed Apelin-Receptor Interactions by Fluorescence Spectroscopy”

June

Dr. Azadeh Kermanshahi pour
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Microalgae-derived chemicals: opportunity for an integrated chemical plant

Kyungsoo Shin
Ph.D. Candidate
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
“Redefining the Apelinergic System From a Simple Ligand-Receptor Pair to a Plethora of Protein-Membrane and Protein-Protein Interactions”

Ph.D. Thesis Defence - Mitesh Nagar
Wednesday, June 03, 2015
Mandelate Racemase: Insights into Substrate Tolerance, Novel Inhibitor-Binding Modes, and the Role of Binding Determinants

Dr. Michael McLeish
Wednesday, June 03, 2015
“Engineering Enzymes and Pathways”

July

Dr. Thomas Richards
Thursday, July 30, 2015
Horizontal gene transfer and the evolution of osmotrophic phenotypes

PhD Thesis Defence - Michelle Leger
Thursday, July 30, 2015
The diversity and origins of mitochondrion-related organelles

PhD Thesis Defence - Mary McQuaid
Wednesday, July 29, 2015
Contributions of DNA Sequence Elements, Plasmid-Encoded Proteins and Host Proteins to Maintenance of the Yeast 2-Micron Plasmid

MSc Thesis Defence - Matthew Harty
Tuesday, July 28, 2015
Studying the Role of the Divalent Metal Cation Activator of the Cambialistic Enzyme Mandelate Racemase

Dr. Maureen O'Malley
Thursday, July 16, 2015
From Correlation to Causation in Microbiome Research

MSc Thesis Defence - Jésica Noelia Dufay
Wednesday, July 15, 2015
Defining the Role of Hem25 in Mitochondrial Function: Implications for Congenital Sideroblastic Anemica

Katherine Strynatka & Purvi Trivedi
M.Sc. Candidates
Wednesday, July 08, 2015
Katherine Strynatka

"Using Yeast to Screen for Drugs for the Treatment of Parkinson’s Disease"

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Purvi Trivedi

“Nutrient Regulation of Cardiac Autophagy in Obesity and Diabetes”

August

Dr Laura Wegener Parfrey
Monday, August 17, 2015
Eukaryotes in the mammalian gut

Dr Michael Dietrich
Thursday, August 06, 2015
DNA Evolution and the Multi-Model Regress in Molecular Systematics

PhD Thesis Defence - Dale Corkery
Tuesday, August 04, 2015
PRP4K is a Novel HER2-Regulated Modifier of Anoikis and Taxane Resistance

Dr. David Litchfield
Tuesday, August 04, 2015
Deciphering the Regulatory Networks That Control Cell Proliferation and Survival Using Functional Proteomics and Chemical Genetics

September

Dr. Ian Weaver
Wednesday, September 30, 2015
Maternal Care effects on chromatin-remodelling protein ATRX expression and long-term neurobehavioural development

Dr. Vytas Bankaitis
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Phosphatidylinositol Transfer Proteins and the Conversion of Membrane Surfaces to High Definition Lipid Signaling Screens

October

Dr. Jeffrey Waller - CANCELLED
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
CANCELLED

Dr. Simon Lamarre
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Adjustments of protein metabolism following food withdrawal in fish and cephalopods

Dr. Angelo Iulianella
Wednesday, October 14, 2015
The making of a brain: molecular and cellular mechanisms of neural development

Jack Stewart
Wednesday, October 07, 2015
Targeting the oncochannel TRPV6: deployment of TRPV6-binding peptides for treatment and diagnosis

November

Dr. Paul X.-Q. Liu
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Protein ligation using intein: engineered protein ligase?

Dr. John Rubinstein
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Electron cryomicroscopy ‎of rotary ATPases

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Susan Christina Sharpe
Wednesday, November 04, 2015
The Protistan Origins of Multicellularity:Timing and Evolution of Cell Adhesion Molecules

Dr. Hugo Wurtele
Wednesday, November 04, 2015
Chromosome acetylation cycles and the DNA damage response

December

Ph.D. Thesis Defence - Aditya Pandey
Wednesday, December 09, 2015
Expression, Purification and Biophysical Characterization of Large Fragments of the Apelin Receptor Enabling Delineation of a Juxtamembrane Helix with Amphipathicity Necessary for Plasma Membrane Localization

Ph.D. Thesis Defence – Jose Sergio Hleap-Lozano
Tuesday, December 08, 2015
Comparative Quantitative Genetics of Protein Structures: a composite approach to protein structure evolution

Dr. Jeffrey Thorne
Monday, December 07, 2015
Incorporating disease data and interlocus gene conversion into evolutionary inference

Dr. Erin Bertrand
Wednesday, December 02, 2015
The role of cobalamin in diatom molecular physiology and interactions with bacteria: implications for Southern Ocean productivity

M.Sc. Thesis Defence - Robin Elisabeth Patterson
Wednesday, December 02, 2015
Probing Membrane Catalyzed Apelin-Receptor Interactions by Fluorescence Spectroscopy